Curry Up!

I know, I know. Such a predictable post title. You’re thinking, “Can she not find another way to pun on the word Curry? It’s so overused!” Okay, so maybe you weren’t thinking that, and perhaps I have only just now drawn your attention to my bland title, but I just wanted to acknowledge the fact of the tasteless title before anyone else did. Oh, and I’m not just trying to curry favor with you….I’m trying to share curry flavor with you! No? Okay. Enough with the puns (how many did you count?). I really do have a delicious curry recipe, and I’ve decided to make it the focus of today’s post because it’s food, and food provides the perfect opportunity to get acquainted!

Believe me when I say that I have tried a million curry recipes in my lifetime. Well, maybe not quite a million, but I’m sure I have cried at least a million tears while chopping countless onions in my quest to find the perfect curry recipe. What makes a perfect curry recipe, you ask? GREAT QUESTION!

Fun-fact: I don’t really know what constitutes the perfect curry recipe.

However, I do know what I like and don’t like, so let’s start there!

What I like in a curry: Medium-hot spice, good balance of flavors, enough for leftovers

What I dislike in a curry: Blandness, one flavor overtaking the others, too complicated

With that out of the way, let’s talk about what makes THIS recipe great: it is incredibly flavorful without being overly-complicated, it has a nice, thick consistency, and it yields several days worth of meals! Did I mention that men absolutely love it? NOW you’re interested!

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 c cooking oil (I prefer grapeseed oil)
  • 1 onion, finely chopped
  • 1-2 tsp salt
  • 1 Tbsp minced garlic
  • 1 1/2 tsp minced ginger (Litehouse Instantly Fresh Ginger)
  • 1 Tbsp Curry Powder
  • 1 tsp cumin powder
  • 1 tsp coriander powder
  • 1 tsp turmeric powder
  • 1 tsp cayenne powder
  • 1-2 Tbsp water
  • 1 15 oz can diced tomatoes (I like to puree mine)
  • 1 cup plain Greek yogurt
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2-3 large potatoes, cut/sliced
  • 2 1/2 -2 3/4 lbs boneless skinless chicken breast
  • 1 1/2 cups water (maybe more, maybe less depending)
  • 1 tsp garam masala

Directions:

Place oil, chopped onions, and salt in a large stockpot over medium heat. Fry and stir until the onions are nearly translucent. Add the garlic and ginger, fry for another minute. Stir in the curry, cumin, coriander, turmeric, and cayenne. Drop in that Tbsp of water to moisten the spice mixture and stir everything together well. Let this heat up for a minute to bring out the flavor in the spice mix. Next add the tomatoes, yogurt, and the final tsp of salt. Combine thoroughly. Toss in the sliced potatoes and cover with the sauce. You may need to add a little water here to ensure full potato coverage. Cover the pot and cook over medium heat until the potatoes are partially cooked. Next add the chicken and combine everything together well. Check once more that you still have enough water to cover everything. You may or may not need to add more. Once everything is combined and ready to cover, sprinkle in the garam masala.  Do NOT stir it in at this point. Finally, cover the pot and cook over medium or low-medium heat. About 15 minutes in, check in on it and go ahead and stir to allow the garam masala to mix. Continue to cook on low or low-medium until the chicken and potatoes are cooked through. I recommend letting the curry sit for a little while before serving, but you can also serve it right away over Basmati rice. Enjoy!


Leave a Reply

